Experimenting with HDR

HDR, or high dynamic range, photography is something I didn’t know existed until very recently.  I was reading this blog post at Mental Floss (which, by the way, I LOVE Mental Floss!) and saw his description of how he attained the gorgeous images under limited lighting conditions in the comments.  I was intrigued.  Basically, an HDR image is an image created by overlaying pictures of the same thing, shot right after each other at different exposure levels (a.k.a. bracketing).  By combining these over- and under-exposed images, you can bring out a combination of highlights, shadows, and color that you’d never be able to obtain with one image.

Yesterday my family and I went on a hike in our town and came across some ruins, which I believe are the remnants of one of Adolph Zukor‘s houses, and a pump house which probably supplied water to his property from the creek.  The machinery in the pump house didn’t get very good light so I thought I’d take some pictures and try to do an HDR image with them.

Here’s what I got… first, the three bracketed images that I started with:

DSC_8147DSC_8146 DSC_8145

Then using Photoshop to combine the images and adding a little vignetting to the corners, I got this one HDR image:

Untitled HDR 00

I didn’t stop up and down very much with my bracketing, which I’m assuming could have made this picture even more interesting.  But I’m still happy with it.

I also shot a wedding on Saturday, which was a lot of fun, but since my daughter is starting KINDERGARTEN on Tuesday, aside from getting all the wedding pictures uploaded, I’m leaving the editing work until the week.  I’ve been trying to hang out with her and do some fun stuff together before school starts.  But, those wedding pictures and recap of the day will come soon!

~ by Lisa on September 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
