A new adventure in wedding photography

This weekend, my dad got married.  My mom passed away a bunch of years ago, and his new wife was a widow, too.  The day was a little weird for all the kids, but mostly fun and joyous and glad that our parents found another someone special to spend the rest of their years with (hopefully).

Being the ‘photographer’ in the family, I of course was called upon to document the day, and I happily took on the task.  When I’m a photographer at a client’s wedding, I’m sort of in charge.  I get to tell people what to do, and offer directions, and be somewhat direct when I need to be… but I found taking that role with my family, and my new family, was really difficult.  It was a hard line to balance on — I wanted to make sure the pictures turned out well, but I really felt like I had to edit myself a lot more.  I didn’t want to piss off my own family members, who might take my direction more personally, and I didn’t want to come across to my new family (FOUR new stepsiblings!) as pushy.  So while I did take some great pictures, I wish I could have done better.  Part of the problem, too, was trusting other people to snap some pictures for me.  Being I was the daughter of the groom, it was expected I would be in a bunch of posed pictures, so for those I would grab someone else to take the picture after I’d gotten it set up.  But the person I’d grab would only take one picture even though I asked them to take three or four, or they’d decide they didn’t like the angle I’d put them at and take two steps to the right (and thereby obscuring faces I’d worked hard to make sure were visible).  And again — anyone I’d ask to take control of the camera, they were family.  I couldn’t exactly bark at them to stop and do what I said.  Not only all that, but my husband and two small kids were in attendance, and I was depending on the hubby to get the kids ready and get everywhere and time… and that didn’t always happen.  Most critically, he made us late for both the pre-wedding pictures of the groom’s party, and for getting to the church.  We weren’t LATE late for either, but I didn’t get any time to set up before the ceremony started and it screwed up the quality of many of my ceremony pictures.  I really really don’t like not having time to set up my stuff – and that’s why!  I got all the requisite shots, fortunately, but I could have done better.

Regardless, not only was it a fun time, but there were definitely lots of nice pictures.  I really can’t complain.  🙂

My brother (also the best man) putting on my dads boutonniere

My brother (also the best man) putting on my dad's boutonniere

During the ceremony

During the ceremony

My brother, dad, new stepmom, and the matron of honor

My brother, dad, new stepmom, and the matron of honor

The cake

The cake

You can see more of their pictures in my wedding portfolio here.

~ by Lisa on May 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
